Professional practice

ALIA Library

ALA’s Core Competences of Librarianship

The American Library Association Core Competences (ALACCs) reflect basic knowledge gained through LIS education, job on-boarding, and ongoing professional development early in a library career. It is essential that library professionals working throughout their careers in school, academic, public, special, and governmental libraries be life-long learners to acquire specialized and advanced knowledge beyond those specified in this Core Competences document.
This document is a draft version last revised 6 March 2021. It is reproduced with permission from the ALA.

Bodies of Knowledge (BOK)

The Bodies of Knowledge (Bok) identify the different areas of competency for the Library and Information Profession. The 11 BOKs are clustered in six managable groups, which makes it easier to gather evidence to revalidate.
This document was captured with permission from the Library and Information Association of New Zealand Aotearoa (LIANZA) webpage, "Bodies of Knowledge (BOK)" on 3 March 2022. 

HCL Anderson Award

The HCL Anderson Award is awarded in recognition of outstanding service to the library and information profession in Australia, to ALIA, to the theory of library and information science, and/or to the practice of library and information services. 
This document provides general information and an application for nomination of an individual to receive the award.

HLA/MedicalDirector Digital Health Innovation Award: Application form

The HLA/MedicalDirector Digital Health Innovation Award is funded by MedicalDirector and maintained by the ALIA Health Libraries Australia group. The Award focuses on innovation projects in health care information delivery with practical outcomes. 
The Award is presented annually at a relevant HLA (ALIA) event. The recipient/s are to be presented with a certificate and $3,000 to implement the innovation or further their (or their team’s) professional development in the area of the innovation.

Australian Interlibrary Resource Sharing (ILRS) Code

The Australian Interlibrary Resource Sharing (ILRS Code) November 2013, replaces the code adopted by the library sector in 2011. The ILRS Code benefits Australian libraries and their users by providing greater predictability, consistency, and flexibility in obtaining materials. The ILRS Code has been endorsed by the Australia Library Peak bodies including Australian Library and Information Association (ALIA), National and State Libraries Australia (NSLA), the Council of Australian University Librarians (CAUL) and the National Library of Australia.

Data speaks volumes: evidence-based delivery of library services in a user-centered library [slides]

Asia-Pacific Library and Information Conference 2018, 30 July - 2 August 2018 Gold Coast: Roar Leap Dare
This conference presentation (PowerPoint slides) supports the paper which discusses the emerging trend in librarianship to rely on evidence and data, rather than opinion and anecdotes, to guide the planning, delivery, and assessment of library services that are truly user-oriented.


Subscribe to RSS - Professional practice